top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca

A Must Watch: WNUF Halloween Special

Updated: Oct 15, 2020



I haven't seen a movie this enjoyable in years! In my opinion, they capture nostalgia almost perfectly. With this film, what you are supposed to believe is that you're watching a 1987 news broadcast that took place on Halloween night. If you had this on in the background, a guest without prior knowledge would likely assume this was the real deal.



The newscast documents supernatural activity happening in the town's haunted house by television personality, Frank Stewart (play by actor Paul Fahrenkopf). Frank is the icing on the cake in this. He plays the role of the straight man so well. His condescending tone towards the local residents had me laughing out loud throughout. Stewart leads a couple of kooky paranormal investigators, their extra-sensory cat, and an exorcist around the Webber House. During the movie, the broadcast jumps from the corny news anchors (who are also very believable), to Frank, to some of the most accurate 80's commercials I have ever seen. I was so impressed by the dialogue, colors and fonts used in each ad. The PSA's were also spot on. I found myself expressing my astonishment with a, "Wow!" or "This is insane!" many times during the commercial breaks. Although these are considered parodies, their accuracy left me astounded more than anything else. This film should win awards passed on those commercials alone...and it is chocked full of them! (One might even say there are too many.)



They master a subtleness with this film that I found brilliant and heartwarming (despite the route the plot takes as the Webber House investigation heats up). Overall this film left me smiling, creatively inspired, and determined to see any and all roles Paul Fahrenkopf has ever done.



20 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page